Buy Textbooks  |  Rent Textbooks  |  Sell Textbooks  |  eTextbooks
Help  |  Questions? 1-877-292-6442
Hello, Sign In
Your Account
0

Acting Black : College, Identity, and the Performance of Race - 03 edition

Acting Black : College, Identity, and the Performance of Race (ISBN10: 0415944104; ISBN13: 9780415944106)
ISBN13: 978-0415944106
ISBN10: 0415944104

This edition has also been released as:
ISBN13: 978-0415944090
ISBN10: 0415944090

Summary: In the optimism of the post-Civil Rights era, affirmative action was still novel and not yet facing the attacks of the present. Against this historical backdrop, Sarah Willie asked the question: How different was it to be Black at a historically Black university versus a traditionally White one? Acting Black contains interviews with nearly sixty African-American men and women who either attended Northwestern University, a predominantly White school, or Howard Univers
ity, a predominantly Black school. In this poignant and perceptive book, Willie reveals the intransigence of racism, the power of friendship, the difference of class inequality and the need for an identity that is stable and flexible.

In Acting Black, Willie situates the personal stories of her own experience and those of her interviewees within a review of university policies regarding race. She offers suggestions for improvement for both White and Black universities seeking to make their campuses truly multicultural. In the tradition of The Agony of Education, Willie captures the painful dilemmas and ugly realities African Americans face on campus.
...show more
Summary: In the optimism of the post-Civil Rights era, affirmative action was still novel and not yet facing the attacks of the present. Against this historical backdrop, Sarah Willie asked the question: How different was it to be Black at a historically Black university versus a traditionally White one? Acting Black contains interviews with nearly sixty African-American men and women who either attended Northwestern University, a predominantly White school, or Howard University, a predominantly Black school. In this poignant and perceptive book, Willie reveals the intransigence of racism, the power of friendship, the difference of class inequality and the need for an identity that is stable and flexible.

In Acting Black, Willie situates the personal stories of her own experience and those of her interviewees within a review of university policies regarding race. She offers suggestions for improvement for both White and Black universities seeking to make their campuses truly multicultural. In the tradition of The Agony of Education, Willie captures the painful dilemmas and ugly realities African Americans face on campus. ...show less

Edition/Copyright: 03
Cover: Paperback
Publisher: Routledge N. Y.
Published: 03/28/2003
International: No

View Table of Contents



List Price: $55.95
Used  Currently Sold Out
New  Currently Sold Out
Rental $13.99
Due back 07/31/2015
Rental
Save $41.96 (75%)
  • Free return shipping
  • In stock
  • 21-day satisfaction guarantee
CDs or access codes may not be included
Marketplace sellers starting at $14.20

11 more offers below.

The Marketplace on Textbooks.com
Additional Sellers for Acting Black : College, Identity, and the Performance of Race
Just for you, we curate a growing list of independent booksellers, giving you even MORE choices when shopping for your textbooks.
Keep in mind: Marketplace orders do NOT qualify for free shipping. More about the MarketplaceMore about the Marketplace

Filter by:   All (11)  |  New (4)  |  Very Good (3)  |  Good (2)  |  Acceptable (2)

Price
 
Condition
Seller
Comments
$50.39
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
New
Barnes & Noble.com
Various Shipping Locations, USA
Seller Rating: 5
Brand new, ships from the closest shipping location to your shipping address!
$14.20
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Good
Bookbyte-OR
Salem, OR
Seller Rating: 4.57
May include moderately worn cover, writing, markings or slight discoloration. SKU:9780415944106-4-0
$22.00
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
VeryGood
Textbookcenter.com
Columbia, MO
Seller Rating: 4.63
Ships same day or next business day via UPS (Priority Mail for AK/HI/APO/PO Boxes)! Used sticker and some writing and/or highlighting. Used books may not include working access code or dust jacket.
$43.55
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
New
PaperbackshopUS
Secaucus, NJ
Seller Rating: 4.48
New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000.
$59.95
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Acceptable
omgtextbooks
Pueblo West, CO
Seller Rating: 3.71
New York, NY 2003 Trade paperback Fair. Trade paperback (US). Glued binding. 210 p.
$83.51
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
New
Herb Tandree Philosophy Books
Stroud, Glos,
Seller Rating: 4.43
2015 Paperback NEW 9780415944106 This listing is a new book, a title currently in-print which we order directly and immediately from the publisher. Print on Demand title, produced to the highest st ...show moreandard, and there would be a delay in dispatch of around 15 working days. *****PLEASE NOTE: This item is shipping from an authorized seller in Europe. In the event that a return is necessary, you will be able to return your item within the US. To learn more about our European sellers and policies see the BookQuest FAQ section***** ...show less
$104.91
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
New
bargainforce
Chicago, IL
Seller Rating: 3.97
No comments from the seller
Page:   1     2     |   Next >
Close
Close
Close