Buy Textbooks  |  Rent Textbooks  |  Sell Textbooks  |  eTextbooks
Help  |  Questions? 1-877-292-6442
Hello, Sign In
Your Account
0

Are You There Alone? : Unspeakable Crime of Andrea Yates - 04 edition

Are You There Alone? : Unspeakable Crime of Andrea Yates (ISBN10: 0743466292; ISBN13: 9780743466295)
ISBN13: 978-0743466295
ISBN10: 0743466292

This edition has also been released as:
ISBN13: 978-0743244855
ISBN10: 0743244850

Summary: In the tradition of In Cold Blood, The Executioner's Song, and A Civil Action, Suzanne O'Malley exposes the human mystery of the most horrifying crime in recent history and the legal drama surrounding it.

As a journalist, Suzanne O'Malley began covering the murders of Noah, John, Paul, Luke, and Mary Yates hours after their mother, Andrea Yates, drowned them in their suburban Houston home in June 2001. Over twenty-four months, O'Malley interviewed or witnes
sed the sworn testimony of more than a hundred participants in this drama, including Yates herself; her husband, Rusty Yates; their families; attorneys; the personnel of the Harris County district attorney's and sheriff's offices; medical staff; friends; acquaintances; and expert witnesses.

O'Malley argues persuasively that under less extraordinary circumstances, a mentally ill woman would have been quietly offered a plea bargain and sent to an institution under court supervision. But on March 12, 2002, Andrea Yates was found guilty of the murders of three of her five children. She is currently serving a life sentence and will not be eligible for parole until 2041.

O'Malley's exclusive personal communications with Andrea Yates and her interviews with Rusty Yates allow her to offer fully realized portrayals of people at the center of this horrifying case.

In "Are You There Alone?" O'Malley makes a critical contribution to our understanding of mental health issues within the criminal justice system.
...show more
Summary: In the tradition of In Cold Blood, The Executioner's Song, and A Civil Action, Suzanne O'Malley exposes the human mystery of the most horrifying crime in recent history and the legal drama surrounding it.

As a journalist, Suzanne O'Malley began covering the murders of Noah, John, Paul, Luke, and Mary Yates hours after their mother, Andrea Yates, drowned them in their suburban Houston home in June 2001. Over twenty-four months, O'Malley interviewed or witnessed the sworn testimony of more than a hundred participants in this drama, including Yates herself; her husband, Rusty Yates; their families; attorneys; the personnel of the Harris County district attorney's and sheriff's offices; medical staff; friends; acquaintances; and expert witnesses.

O'Malley argues persuasively that under less extraordinary circumstances, a mentally ill woman would have been quietly offered a plea bargain and sent to an institution under court supervision. But on March 12, 2002, Andrea Yates was found guilty of the murders of three of her five children. She is currently serving a life sentence and will not be eligible for parole until 2041.

O'Malley's exclusive personal communications with Andrea Yates and her interviews with Rusty Yates allow her to offer fully realized portrayals of people at the center of this horrifying case.

In "Are You There Alone?" O'Malley makes a critical contribution to our understanding of mental health issues within the criminal justice system. ...show less

Edition/Copyright: 04
Cover: Paperback
Publisher: Pocket Books, Inc.
Published: 05/24/2005
International: No



List Price: $7.99
Used $4.40
Used
Save $3.59 (45%)
  • FREE shipping over $25
  • In stock
  • 30-day returns
Condition:
Order this book in the next 14 hours and 33 minutes and it ships by Noon CT Monday!
New  Currently Sold Out
Marketplace sellers starting at $1.99

16 more offers below.

The Marketplace on Textbooks.com
Additional Sellers for Are You There Alone? : Unspeakable Crime of Andrea Yates
Just for you, we curate a growing list of independent booksellers, giving you even MORE choices when shopping for your textbooks.
Keep in mind: Marketplace orders do NOT qualify for free shipping. More about the MarketplaceMore about the Marketplace

Filter by:   All (16)  |  New (1)  |  Very Good (2)  |  Good (7)  |  Acceptable (6)

Price
 
Condition
Seller
Comments
$4.40
+$3.99 s/h

Very Good
Textbooks.com
Columbia, MO
Ships Ground DIRECTLY from Textbooks.com for $3.99. FREE Ground Shipping over $25! Very good condition (Certified Used). Trackable expedited shipping options available.
$1.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Acceptable
OwlsBooks-TRM
Toledo, OH
Seller Rating: 4.42
Giving great service since 2004: Buy from the Best! 4,000,000 items shipped to delighted customers. We have 1,000,000 unique items ready to ship! Find your Great Buy today!
$1.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Acceptable
HippoBooks-DB
Toledo, OH
Seller Rating: 4.49
Our feedback rating says it all: Five star service and fast delivery! We have shipped four million items to happy customers, and have one MILLION unique items ready to ship today!
$1.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Acceptable
Blue Cloud Books
Phoenix, AZ
Seller Rating: 4.54
Blue Cloud Books ??? Hot deals from the land of the sun.
$1.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Acceptable
Books Squared
Dallas, TX
Seller Rating: 4.59
Book selection as BIG as Texas.
$1.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Acceptable
Books Squared
Dallas, TX
Seller Rating: 4.59
Book selection as BIG as Texas.
$2.31
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Good
Better World Books
Mishawaka, IN
Seller Rating: 4.62
Instructor's Edition. Sorry, CD missing. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. 100% Money Back Guarantee. Shipped to over one million happy customers. Your purchase benef ...show moreits world literacy! ...show less
$3.45
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Good
The Book Store MO
Moberly, MO
Seller Rating: 4.62
2005 Mass-market paperback Updated ed. Good. No dust jacket as issued. Mass market (rack) paperback. Glued binding. 432 p. Contains: Illustrations. Audience: General/trade.
$4.40
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
VeryGood
Textbookcenter.com
Columbia, MO
Seller Rating: 4.63
Ships same day or next business day via UPS (Priority Mail for AK/HI/APO/PO Boxes)! Used sticker and some writing and/or highlighting. Used books may not include working access code or dust jacket.
$7.98
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Acceptable
GreatBookPrices
Westminster, MD
Seller Rating: 4.18
Used, Acceptable Condition, may show signs of wear and previous use. Please allow 4-14 business days for delivery. 100% Money Back Guarantee, Over 1,000,000 customers served.
$9.95
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Good
omgtextbooks
Pueblo West, CO
Seller Rating: 3.79
New York, NY 2005 Mass-market paperback Updated ed. Good. Mass market (rack) paperback. Glued binding. 432 p. Contains: Illustrations.
Page:   1     2     |   Next >
Close
Close
Close