Buy Textbooks  |  Rent Textbooks  |  Sell Textbooks  |  eTextbooks
Help  |  Questions? 1-877-292-6442
Hello, Sign In
Your Account
0

Bay Country - 87 edition

Bay Country (ISBN10: 080184875X; ISBN13: 9780801848759)
ISBN13: 978-0801848759
ISBN10: 080184875X

This edition has also been released as:
ISBN13: 978-0801835254
ISBN10: 0801835259

Summary: Winner of the John Burroughs Medal for the Outstanding Book of Nature Writing.''Must reading in a city that reinvented itself by seeking itsharbor roots.''--Baltimore Magazine.''Mr. Horton--a Baltimore journalist who has developed a devoted but hitherto local following--ventures into a small, distinguished circle of nature writers. Fans of Aldo Leopold, John McPhee and Sigurd Olson won't be disappointed. This is not merely a book for those who already know the Chesapeake, although
they will be enchanted by Tom Horton's vast knowledge, narrative skills and eye for detail. Like the true bay native he is, Mr. Horton uses the Chesapeake as a limitless resource from which to harvest a great bounty of observations about politics, nature, and human beings.''--New York Times Book Review.''Sailing down the Chesapeake in this book is bracing, for Horton is knowledgeable, thoughtful, full of wonder about the natural world and outspoken... . As Smith Islanders might say, it's a `right smart' book.''--Washington Post.Marylan
...show more
Summary: Winner of the John Burroughs Medal for the Outstanding Book of Nature Writing.''Must reading in a city that reinvented itself by seeking itsharbor roots.''--Baltimore Magazine.''Mr. Horton--a Baltimore journalist who has developed a devoted but hitherto local following--ventures into a small, distinguished circle of nature writers. Fans of Aldo Leopold, John McPhee and Sigurd Olson won't be disappointed. This is not merely a book for those who already know the Chesapeake, although they will be enchanted by Tom Horton's vast knowledge, narrative skills and eye for detail. Like the true bay native he is, Mr. Horton uses the Chesapeake as a limitless resource from which to harvest a great bounty of observations about politics, nature, and human beings.''--New York Times Book Review.''Sailing down the Chesapeake in this book is bracing, for Horton is knowledgeable, thoughtful, full of wonder about the natural world and outspoken... . As Smith Islanders might say, it's a `right smart' book.''--Washington Post.Marylan ...show less

Edition/Copyright: 87
Cover: Paperback
Publisher: Johns Hopkins University Press
Published: 02/28/1994
International: No

View Review



List Price: $23.00
Used $5.75
Used
Save $17.25 (75%)
  • FREE shipping over $25
  • In stock
  • 30-day returns
Condition:
Order this book in the next 23 hours and 16 minutes and it ships by Noon CT Monday!
New  Currently Sold Out
Rental $9.99
Due back 07/31/2015
Marketplace sellers starting at $1.99

24 more offers below.

The Marketplace on Textbooks.com
Additional Sellers for Bay Country
Just for you, we curate a growing list of independent booksellers, giving you even MORE choices when shopping for your textbooks.
Keep in mind: Marketplace orders do NOT qualify for free shipping. More about the MarketplaceMore about the Marketplace

Filter by:   All (24)  |  New (6)  |  Like New (1)  |  Very Good (8)  |  Good (7)  |  Acceptable (2)

Price
 
Condition
Seller
Comments
$5.75
+$3.99 s/h

Very Good
Textbooks.com
Columbia, MO
Ships Ground DIRECTLY from Textbooks.com for $3.99. FREE Ground Shipping over $25! Very good condition (Certified Used). Trackable expedited shipping options available.
$19.32
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
New
Barnes & Noble.com
Various Shipping Locations, USA
Seller Rating: 5
Brand new, ships from the closest shipping location to your shipping address!
$1.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Good
purple_whale_123
aurora, IL
Seller Rating: 4.28
080184875X Item in good condition and ready to ship!
$1.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
VeryGood
Clean Earth Books
Atlanta, GA
Seller Rating: 4.4
Very good Excellent Condition! FREE TRACKING/DELIVERY CONFIRMATION ON ALL ORDERS! ! Ships Safe, Secure, & Fast! 100% MONEY BACK GUARANTEE!
$1.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Good
purple_whale_123
aurora, IL
Seller Rating: 4.28
080184875X Item in good condition and ready to ship!
$1.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
VeryGood
HippoBooks-DB
Toledo, OH
Seller Rating: 4.49
Our feedback rating says it all: Five star service and fast delivery! We have shipped four million items to happy customers, and have one MILLION unique items ready to ship today!
$1.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
VeryGood
RayBrenBooks
Baltimore, MD
Seller Rating: 4.86
1989 First edition with complete number line. Book is in great condition with no writing, tears or creased pages. Note: The cover image is different than shown and is in very good condition with minim ...show moreal wear. Stored in a smoke free/pet free environment . All orders shipped same day if received before noon. All orders include tracking. Thank you for your consideration. 0415-1-BA ...show less
$1.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Acceptable
Clean Earth Books
Atlanta, GA
Seller Rating: 4.4
Fair FREE TRACKING/DELIVERY CONFIRMATION ON ALL ORDERS! ! A used book that may have some cosmetic wear (i.e. shelf-wear, slightly torn or missing dust jacket, dented corner...) All text in great sha ...show morepe! Ships Safe, Secure, & Fast! 100% MONEY BACK GUARANTEE! ...show less
$2.00
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Good
Bookwitch CA
Concord, CA
Seller Rating: 4.57
Charles Hazard Good. No DJ Octavo, softcover, light corner curl else good in blue and orange pictorial wraps. A collection of essays that chronicle changes in the lands and waters of the Chesapeake ...show more Bay. During the past century, human influence has decreased the base-line populations of geese, eels, crabs, and trees. As Horton points out, we no longer miss these living things because they have never been abundant in our lifetimes a tragedy of both ecological and human dimensions. His lyrical and understandable prose will convince doubters of the need to consider the diverse consequences of their actions. Horton, a native of the Chesapeake's Eastern Shore, has been an environmental writer for the Baltimore Sun. 223 pp. including index and notes on author. ...show less
$2.91
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Good
Last Word Books
Olympia, WA
Seller Rating: 4.38
080184875X Good, clean text, paperback binding, light to moderate wear to corners and edges, may have previous owner's signature, remainder mark, sticker/residue, and/or other minor aesthetic flaws. S ...show moreatisfaction guaranteed. Last Word Books & Press is an Infamous Independent Bookstore and Print Shop located in Olympia, Washington. ...show less
$3.95
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
VeryGood
Midtown Scholar Bookstore PA
Harrisburg, PA
Seller Rating: 4.73
Baltimore 1994 Trade paperback Revised ed. Very Good. Trade paperback (US). Glued binding. 248 p. Maryland Paperback Bookshelf.
$5.59
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Good
HPB-Springhurst
Louisville, KY
Seller Rating: 4.91
1994 Paperback Good Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include companion materials, some shelf wear, may contain highlighting/notes, and may not include cd-rom or ac ...show morecess codes. Customer service is our top priority! ...show less
Page:   1     2     3     |   Next >
Close
Close
Close