Buy Textbooks  |  Rent Textbooks  |  Sell Textbooks  |  eTextbooks
Help  |  Questions? 1-877-292-6442
Hello, Sign In
Your Account
0

Bay Country - 87 edition

Bay Country (ISBN10: 080184875X; ISBN13: 9780801848759)
ISBN13: 978-0801848759
ISBN10: 080184875X

This edition has also been released as:
ISBN13: 978-0801835254
ISBN10: 0801835259

Summary: Winner of the John Burroughs Medal for the Outstanding Book of Nature Writing.''Must reading in a city that reinvented itself by seeking itsharbor roots.''--Baltimore Magazine.''Mr. Horton--a Baltimore journalist who has developed a devoted but hitherto local following--ventures into a small, distinguished circle of nature writers. Fans of Aldo Leopold, John McPhee and Sigurd Olson won't be disappointed. This is not merely a book for those who already know the Chesapeake, although
they will be enchanted by Tom Horton's vast knowledge, narrative skills and eye for detail. Like the true bay native he is, Mr. Horton uses the Chesapeake as a limitless resource from which to harvest a great bounty of observations about politics, nature, and human beings.''--New York Times Book Review.''Sailing down the Chesapeake in this book is bracing, for Horton is knowledgeable, thoughtful, full of wonder about the natural world and outspoken... . As Smith Islanders might say, it's a `right smart' book.''--Washington Post.Marylan
...show more
Summary: Winner of the John Burroughs Medal for the Outstanding Book of Nature Writing.''Must reading in a city that reinvented itself by seeking itsharbor roots.''--Baltimore Magazine.''Mr. Horton--a Baltimore journalist who has developed a devoted but hitherto local following--ventures into a small, distinguished circle of nature writers. Fans of Aldo Leopold, John McPhee and Sigurd Olson won't be disappointed. This is not merely a book for those who already know the Chesapeake, although they will be enchanted by Tom Horton's vast knowledge, narrative skills and eye for detail. Like the true bay native he is, Mr. Horton uses the Chesapeake as a limitless resource from which to harvest a great bounty of observations about politics, nature, and human beings.''--New York Times Book Review.''Sailing down the Chesapeake in this book is bracing, for Horton is knowledgeable, thoughtful, full of wonder about the natural world and outspoken... . As Smith Islanders might say, it's a `right smart' book.''--Washington Post.Marylan ...show less

Edition/Copyright: 87
Cover: Paperback
Publisher: Johns Hopkins University Press
Year Published: 1987
International: No

View Review



List Price: $23.00
Used $5.75
Used
Save $17.25 (75%)
  • FREE shipping over $25
  • In stock
  • 30-day returns
Condition:
Order this book in the next 18 hours and 41 minutes and it ships by Noon CT tomorrow!
New  Currently Sold Out
Rental $9.99
Due back 12/18/2015
Close
Close
Close