Buy Textbooks  |  Rent Textbooks  |  Sell Textbooks  |  eTextbooks
Help  |  Questions? 1-877-292-6442
Hello, Sign In
Your Account
0

Bay Country - 87 edition

Bay Country (ISBN10: 080184875X; ISBN13: 9780801848759)
ISBN13: 978-0801848759
ISBN10: 080184875X

This edition has also been released as:
ISBN13: 978-0801835254
ISBN10: 0801835259

Summary: Winner of the John Burroughs Medal for the Outstanding Book of Nature Writing.''Must reading in a city that reinvented itself by seeking itsharbor roots.''--Baltimore Magazine.''Mr. Horton--a Baltimore journalist who has developed a devoted but hitherto local following--ventures into a small, distinguished circle of nature writers. Fans of Aldo Leopold, John McPhee and Sigurd Olson won't be disappointed. This is not merely a book for those who already know the Chesapeake, although ...show morethey will be enchanted by Tom Horton's vast knowledge, narrative skills and eye for detail. Like the true bay native he is, Mr. Horton uses the Chesapeake as a limitless resource from which to harvest a great bounty of observations about politics, nature, and human beings.''--New York Times Book Review.''Sailing down the Chesapeake in this book is bracing, for Horton is knowledgeable, thoughtful, full of wonder about the natural world and outspoken... . As Smith Islanders might say, it's a `right smart' book.''--Washington Post.Marylan ...show less

Edition/Copyright: 87
Cover: Paperback
Publisher: Johns Hopkins University Press
Published: 02/28/1994
International: No

View Review



List Price: $23.00
Used $5.75
Used
Save $17.25 (75%)
  • FREE shipping over $25
  • In stock
  • 30-day returns
Condition:
Order this book in the next 13 hours and 47 minutes and it ships by Noon CT tomorrow!
New  Currently Sold Out
Rental $9.99
Due back 12/19/2014
Marketplace sellers starting at $1.99

16 more offers below.

The Marketplace on Textbooks.com
Additional Sellers for Bay Country
Just for you, we curate a growing list of independent booksellers, giving you even MORE choices when shopping for your textbooks.
Keep in mind: Marketplace orders do NOT qualify for free shipping. More about the MarketplaceMore about the Marketplace

Filter by:   All (16)  |  New (4)  |  Like New (3)  |  Very Good (6)  |  Good (2)  |  Acceptable (1)

Price
 
Condition
Seller
Comments
$5.75
+$3.99 s/h

Very Good
Textbooks.com
Columbia, MO
Ships Ground DIRECTLY from Textbooks.com for $3.99. FREE Ground Shipping over $25! Very good condition (Certified Used). Trackable expedited shipping options available.
$1.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
VeryGood
Better World Books
Mishawaka, IN
Seller Rating: 4.63
Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. 100% Money Back Guarantee. Shipped to over one million happy customers. Your purchase benefits world literacy!
$1.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
LikeNew
Penntext
Downingtown, PA
Seller Rating: 4.38
Clean and crisp. No wear and tear. Additional Supplements May not be Included unless previously specified. Please contact us if you have any Questions.
$1.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Good
Penntext
Downingtown, PA
Seller Rating: 4.38
May have minimal notes/highlighting, minimal wear/tear. Additional Supplements May not be Included unless previously specified. Please contact us if you have any Questions.
$1.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Acceptable
Penntext
Downingtown, PA
Seller Rating: 4.38
No dust cover. May have some notes/highlighting, slightly worn covers, general wear/tear. Please contact us if you have any Questions.
$3.95
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
LikeNew
Midtown Scholar Bookstore PA
Harrisburg, PA
Seller Rating: 4.73
2-1-94 Paperback FINE Crisp, clean, unread paperback with light shelfwear to the covers and a publisher's mark to one edge-Nice! 0.74 lbs.
$5.75
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
VeryGood
Textbookcenter.com
Columbia, MO
Seller Rating: 4.63
Ships same day or next business day via UPS (Priority Mail for AK/HI/APO/PO Boxes)! Used sticker and some writing and/or highlighting. Used books may not include working access code or dust jacket.
$8.00
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
VeryGood
Bookwitch CA
Concord, CA
Seller Rating: 4.58
Charles Hazard Octavo, softcover, VG in blue and orange pictorial wraps. A collection of essays that chronicle changes in the lands and waters of the Chesapeake Bay. During the past century, human i ...show morenfluence has decreased the base-line populations of geese, eels, crabs, and trees. As Horton points out, we no longer miss these living things because they have never been abundant in our lifetimes a tragedy of both ecological and human dimensions. His lyrical and understandable prose will convince doubters of the need to consider the diverse consequences of their actions. Horton, a native of the Chesapeake's Eastern Shore, has been an environmental writer for the Baltimore Sun. 223 pp. including index and notes on author. ...show less
$9.00
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
LikeNew
Always Superior Books GA
Marietta, GA
Seller Rating: 4.83
Baltimore 1994 Paperback Fine Trade Paperback
$10.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Good
SUPER BOOKS
Fort Mill, SC
Seller Rating: 3.77
Buy with Confidence. Excellent Customer Support. We ship from multiple US locations. No CD, DVD or Access Code Included.
$13.77
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
New
indoo
Avenel, NJ
Seller Rating: 4.16
BRAND NEW
Page:   1     2     |   Next >
Close
Close
Close