EVERYDAY FREE SHIPPING on $25 & up - Excludes marketplace items & rentals.
EVERYDAY FREE SHIPPING on $25 & up - Excludes marketplace items & rentals.
EVERYDAY FREE SHIPPING on $25 & up - Excludes marketplace items & rentals
Search
Eros the Bittersweet

Eros the Bittersweet - 98 edition

ISBN13: 978-1564781888

Cover of Eros the Bittersweet 98 (ISBN 978-1564781888)
ISBN13: 978-1564781888
ISBN10: 1564781887
Cover type:
Edition/Copyright: 98
Publisher: Dalkey Archive Press
Published: 1998
International: No

USED
Sold Out
FREE Shipping on $25+
  • Check back soon!
  • 30-Day Returns
  • Condition: Very Good
Sold Out
More Shipping Options

Eros the Bittersweet - 98 edition

ISBN13: 978-1564781888

Anne Carson

ISBN13: 978-1564781888
ISBN10: 1564781887
Cover type:
Edition/Copyright: 98
Publisher: Dalkey Archive Press

Published: 1998
International: No
Summary

A book about love as seen by the ancients, Eros is Anne Carson's exploration of the concept of "eros" in both classical philosophy and literature. Beginning with: "It was Sappho who first called eros 'bittersweet.' No one who has been in love disputes her. What does the word mean?", Carson examines her subject from numerous points of view and styles, transcending the constraints of the scholarly exercise for an evocative and lyrical meditation in the tradition of William Carlos William's Spring and All and William H. Gass's On Being Blue.

Epigrammatic, witty, ironic, and endlessly interesting, Eros is an utterly original book by an author whose acclaim has been steadily growing since the book was first published in 1986 by Johns Hopkins. Knopf will be publishing the author's new novel, Autobiography in Red, later this spring.

List price: $0.00
  • Marketplace
  • From
More Shipping Options