Buy Textbooks  |  Rent Textbooks  |  Sell Textbooks  |  eTextbooks
Help  |  Questions? 1-877-292-6442
Hello, Sign In
Your Account
0

Gilead - 04 edition

Gilead (ISBN10: 031242440X; ISBN13: 9780312424404)
ISBN13: 978-0312424404
ISBN10: 031242440X

This edition has also been released as:
ISBN13: 978-0374153892
ISBN10: 0374153892

Summary: Twenty-four years after her first novel, Housekeeping, Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America's heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson's beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows "even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of transcendent order&qu
ot; (Slate). In the luminous and unforgettable voice of Congregationalist minister John Ames, Gilead reveals the human condition and the often unbearable beauty of an ordinary life.
...show more
Summary: Twenty-four years after her first novel, Housekeeping, Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America's heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson's beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows "even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of transcendent order" (Slate). In the luminous and unforgettable voice of Congregationalist minister John Ames, Gilead reveals the human condition and the often unbearable beauty of an ordinary life. ...show less

Edition/Copyright: 04
Cover: Paperback
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, Inc.
Year Published: 2004
International: No



List Price: $16.00
Used $4.00
Used
Save $12.00 (75%)
  • FREE shipping over $25
  • In stock
  • 30-day returns
Condition:
Order this book in the next 10 hours and 37 minutes and it ships by Noon CT today!
New  Currently Sold Out
Close
Close
Close