Buy Textbooks  |  Rent Textbooks  |  Sell Textbooks  |  eTextbooks
Help  |  Questions? 1-877-292-6442
Hello, Sign In
Your Account
0

Kremlin Rising : Vladimir Putin's Russia and the End of Revolution - 05 edition

Kremlin Rising : Vladimir Putin`s Russia and the End of Revolution (ISBN10: 0743264312; ISBN13: 9780743264310)
ISBN13: 978-0743264310
ISBN10: 0743264312

Summary: In the tradition of Hedrick Smith's The Russians, Robert G. Kaiser's Russia: The People and the Power, and David Remnick's Lenin's Tomb comes an eloquent and eye-opening chronicle of Vladimir Putin's Russia, from this generation's leading Moscow correspondents.

With the 1991 collapse of the Soviet Union, Russia launched itself on a fitful transition to Western-style democracy. But a decade later, Boris Yeltsin's handpicked successor, Vladimir Putin, a child
hood hooligan turned KGB officer who rose from nowhere determined to restore the order of the Soviet past, resolved to bring an end to the revolution. Kremlin Rising goes behind the scenes of contemporary Russia to reveal the culmination of Project Putin, the secret plot to reconsolidate power in the Kremlin.

During their four years as Moscow bureau chiefs for The Washington Post, Peter Baker and Susan Glasser witnessed firsthand the methodical campaign to reverse the post-Soviet revolution and transform Russia back into an authoritarian state. Their gripping narrative moves from the unlikely rise of Putin through the key moments of his tenure that re-centralized power into his hands, from his decision to take over Russia's only independent television network to the Moscow theater siege of 2002 to the "managed democracy" elections of 2003 and 2004 to the horrific slaughter of Beslan's schoolchildren in 2004, recounting a four-year period that has changed the direction of modern Russia.

But the authors also go beyond the politics to draw a moving and vivid portrait of the Russian people they encountered -- both those who have prospered and those barely surviving -- and show how the political flux has shaped individual lives. Opening a window to a country on the brink, where behind the gleaming new shopping malls all things Soviet are chic again and even high school students wonder if Lenin was right after all, Kremlin Rising features the personal stories of Russians at all levels of society, including frightened army deserters, an imprisoned oil billionaire, Chechen villagers, a trendy Moscow restaurant king, a reluctant underwear salesman, and anguished AIDS patients in Siberia.

With shrewd reporting and unprecedented access to Putin's insiders, Kremlin Rising offers both unsettling new revelations about Russia's leader and a compelling inside look at life in the land that he is building. As the first major book on Russia in years, it is an extraordinary contribution to our understanding of the country and promises to shape the debate about Russia, its uncertain future, and its relationship with the United States.
...show more
Summary: In the tradition of Hedrick Smith's The Russians, Robert G. Kaiser's Russia: The People and the Power, and David Remnick's Lenin's Tomb comes an eloquent and eye-opening chronicle of Vladimir Putin's Russia, from this generation's leading Moscow correspondents.

With the 1991 collapse of the Soviet Union, Russia launched itself on a fitful transition to Western-style democracy. But a decade later, Boris Yeltsin's handpicked successor, Vladimir Putin, a childhood hooligan turned KGB officer who rose from nowhere determined to restore the order of the Soviet past, resolved to bring an end to the revolution. Kremlin Rising goes behind the scenes of contemporary Russia to reveal the culmination of Project Putin, the secret plot to reconsolidate power in the Kremlin.

During their four years as Moscow bureau chiefs for The Washington Post, Peter Baker and Susan Glasser witnessed firsthand the methodical campaign to reverse the post-Soviet revolution and transform Russia back into an authoritarian state. Their gripping narrative moves from the unlikely rise of Putin through the key moments of his tenure that re-centralized power into his hands, from his decision to take over Russia's only independent television network to the Moscow theater siege of 2002 to the "managed democracy" elections of 2003 and 2004 to the horrific slaughter of Beslan's schoolchildren in 2004, recounting a four-year period that has changed the direction of modern Russia.

But the authors also go beyond the politics to draw a moving and vivid portrait of the Russian people they encountered -- both those who have prospered and those barely surviving -- and show how the political flux has shaped individual lives. Opening a window to a country on the brink, where behind the gleaming new shopping malls all things Soviet are chic again and even high school students wonder if Lenin was right after all, Kremlin Rising features the personal stories of Russians at all levels of society, including frightened army deserters, an imprisoned oil billionaire, Chechen villagers, a trendy Moscow restaurant king, a reluctant underwear salesman, and anguished AIDS patients in Siberia.

With shrewd reporting and unprecedented access to Putin's insiders, Kremlin Rising offers both unsettling new revelations about Russia's leader and a compelling inside look at life in the land that he is building. As the first major book on Russia in years, it is an extraordinary contribution to our understanding of the country and promises to shape the debate about Russia, its uncertain future, and its relationship with the United States. ...show less

Edition/Copyright: 05
Cover: Hardback
Publisher: Charles Scribner's & Sons
Published: 05/31/2005
International: No



List Price: $27.50
Used $6.88
Used
Save $20.62 (75%)
  • FREE shipping over $25
  • In stock
  • 30-day returns
Condition:
Order this book in the next 2 days, 15 hours and 40 minutes and it ships by Noon CT Monday!
New  Currently Sold Out
Marketplace sellers starting at $1.99

50 more offers below.

The Marketplace on Textbooks.com
Additional Sellers for Kremlin Rising : Vladimir Putin's Russia and the End of Revolution
Just for you, we curate a growing list of independent booksellers, giving you even MORE choices when shopping for your textbooks.
Keep in mind: Marketplace orders do NOT qualify for free shipping. More about the MarketplaceMore about the Marketplace

Filter by:   All (50)  |  New (9)  |  Like New (3)  |  Very Good (13)  |  Good (20)  |  Acceptable (5)

Price
 
Condition
Seller
Comments
$6.88
+$3.99 s/h

Very Good
Textbooks.com
Columbia, MO
Ships Ground DIRECTLY from Textbooks.com for $3.99. FREE Ground Shipping over $25! Very good condition (Certified Used). Trackable expedited shipping options available.
$1.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Good
One Planet Books
Columbia, MO
Seller Rating: 4.55
Ships same day or next business day! UPS expedited shipping available (Priority Mail for AK/HI/APO/PO Boxes). Used sticker & some writing and/or highlighting. Used books may not include working access ...show more code or dust jacket ...show less
$1.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Good
BookHolders MD
College Park, MD
Seller Rating: 4.66
reprint Good [ No Hassle 30 Day Returns ] [ Edition: reprint ] Publisher: Scribner Pub Date: 5/31/2005 Binding: Hardcover Pages: 464.
$1.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
VeryGood
AtlantaBookCompany
Atlanta, GA
Seller Rating: 4.59
Light wear to edges and pages. Cover and spine show no easily noticeable damage. A tradition of southern quality and service. All books guaranteed at the Atlanta Book Company. Our mailers are 100% rec ...show moreyclable. ...show less
$1.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Good
Wonder Book
Frederick, MD
Seller Rating: 4.64
Scribner, 05/31/2005, Hardcover, Good condition. Very Good dust jacket.
$1.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Acceptable
Blue Cloud Books
Phoenix, AZ
Seller Rating: 4.54
Dust Cover Missing. Blue Cloud Books ??? Hot deals from the land of the sun.
$1.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Acceptable
Sierra Nevada Books
Reno, NV
Seller Rating: 4.56
Biggest little used bookstore in the world.
$1.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Good
purple_whale_123
aurora, IL
Seller Rating: 4.33
0743264312 Item in good condition and ready to ship!
$1.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Acceptable
Books Squared
Dallas, TX
Seller Rating: 4.59
Book selection as BIG as Texas.
$1.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Good
Better World Books
Mishawaka, IN
Seller Rating: 4.62
Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. 100% Money Back Guarantee. Shipped to over one million happy customers. Your purchase benefits world literacy!
Page:   1     2     3     4     5     |   Next >
Close
Close
Close