EVERYDAY FREE SHIPPING on $25 & up - Excludes marketplace items & rentals.
EVERYDAY FREE SHIPPING on $25 & up - Excludes marketplace items & rentals.
EVERYDAY FREE SHIPPING on $25 & up - Excludes marketplace items & rentals
Search
Mathematician Plays the Stock Market

Mathematician Plays the Stock Market - 03 edition

ISBN13: 978-0465054817

Cover of Mathematician Plays the Stock Market 03 (ISBN 978-0465054817)
ISBN13: 978-0465054817
ISBN10: 0465054811
Cover type:
Edition/Copyright: 03
Publisher: Basic Books, Inc.
Published: 2003
International: No

List price: $15.95

USED
Sold Out
FREE Shipping on $25+
  • Check back soon!
  • 30-Day Returns
  • Condition: Very Good
Sold Out
rental
$9.99
Save $5.96 (37%)


Ships from $5.99
  • Free Return Shipping
  • Due back 12/18/2015
  • CDs or access codes
    may not be included
More Shipping Options

Mathematician Plays the Stock Market - 03 edition

ISBN13: 978-0465054817

John Allen Paulos

ISBN13: 978-0465054817
ISBN10: 0465054811
Cover type:
Edition/Copyright: 03
Publisher: Basic Books, Inc.

Published: 2003
International: No
Summary

In A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market, best-selling author John Allen Paulos demonstrates what the tools of mathematics can tell us about the vagaries of the stock market. Employing his trademark stories, vignettes, paradoxes and puzzles (and even a film treatment), Paulos addresses every thinking reader's curiosity about the market: Is it efficient? Is it rational? Is there anything to technical analysis, fundamental analysis, and other supposedly time-tested methods of picking stocks? How can one quantify risk? What are the most common scams? What light do fractals, network theory, and common psychological foibles shed on investor behavior? Are there any approaches to investing that truly outperform the major indexes? Can a deeper knowledge of mathematics help beat the odds? All of these questions are explored with the engaging erudition that made Paulos's A Mathematician Reads the Newspaper and Innumeracy favorites with both armchair mathematicians and readers who want to think like them. Paulos also shares the cautionary tale of his own long and disastrous love affair with WorldCom. In the tradition of Burton Malkiel's A Random Walk Down Wall Street and Jeremy Siegel's Stocks for the Long Run, this wry and illuminating book is for anyone, investor or not, who follows the markets -- or knows someone who does.

List price: $15.95
  • Rental
  • $9.99
  • Marketplace
  • From
More Shipping Options