Buy Textbooks  |  Rent Textbooks  |  Sell Textbooks  |  eTextbooks
Help  |  Questions? 1-877-292-6442
Hello, Sign In
Your Account
0

No Child of Mine

No Child of Mine (ISBN10: 0345547756; ISBN13: 9780345547750)
ISBN13: 978-0345547750
ISBN10: 0345547756

Summary: From internationally bestselling British author Susan Lewis comes an unflinching, thoroughly suspenseful novel—perfect for readers of Jodi Picoult—about the darkest secrets a family can hide.   Alex Lake’s life is centered on helping people. Her job as a social worker in a British seaside town is more than a career: It’s the very essence of who she is. And though there are frustrations, Alex takes to heart the rewards of placing a child in a safe and loving home. But when she encounters
three-year-old Ottilie Wade, Alex is completely unprepared for the effect the sweet, shy little girl has on her. Though on the surface Ottilie seems to want for nothing—she’s perfectly healthy and lives in a very nice home—she’s mysteriously silent and asocial. Alex knows that something is not right in the Wade house. And the deeper she looks into the case, the more Alex comes to feel that she and Ottilie are being drawn together by fate.   As disturbing evidence mounts and Alex’s superiors seem unwilling to help, Alex knows she will have to risk everything—her job and the life she loves—to save Ottilie. But Alex will also have to wrestle the demons of her own past before she can secure a future for this child in need.Praise for No Child of Mine   “Spellbinding . . . The atmosphere grows more intense with the turn of each page, right up to the dramatic climax.”—Fredericksburg Free Lance–Star   “Susan Lewis’s storyline is both heartbreaking and heartwarming. . . . Susan writes with sensitivity, compassion and hope.”—Fresh FictionLook for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.
...show more
Summary: From internationally bestselling British author Susan Lewis comes an unflinching, thoroughly suspenseful novel—perfect for readers of Jodi Picoult—about the darkest secrets a family can hide.   Alex Lake’s life is centered on helping people. Her job as a social worker in a British seaside town is more than a career: It’s the very essence of who she is. And though there are frustrations, Alex takes to heart the rewards of placing a child in a safe and loving home. But when she encounters three-year-old Ottilie Wade, Alex is completely unprepared for the effect the sweet, shy little girl has on her. Though on the surface Ottilie seems to want for nothing—she’s perfectly healthy and lives in a very nice home—she’s mysteriously silent and asocial. Alex knows that something is not right in the Wade house. And the deeper she looks into the case, the more Alex comes to feel that she and Ottilie are being drawn together by fate.   As disturbing evidence mounts and Alex’s superiors seem unwilling to help, Alex knows she will have to risk everything—her job and the life she loves—to save Ottilie. But Alex will also have to wrestle the demons of her own past before she can secure a future for this child in need.Praise for No Child of Mine   “Spellbinding . . . The atmosphere grows more intense with the turn of each page, right up to the dramatic climax.”—Fredericksburg Free Lance–Star   “Susan Lewis’s storyline is both heartbreaking and heartwarming. . . . Susan writes with sensitivity, compassion and hope.”—Fresh FictionLook for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more....show less

Cover:
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Year Published: 2013
International: No



List Price: $15.00
Used  Currently Sold Out
New  Currently Sold Out
Rental $9.99
Due back 12/18/2015
Rental
Save $5.01 (33%)
  • Free return shipping
  • In stock
  • 21-day satisfaction guarantee
CDs or access codes may not be included
Close
Close
Close