Buy Textbooks  |  Rent Textbooks  |  Sell Textbooks  |  eTextbooks
Help  |  Questions? 1-877-292-6442
Hello, Sign In
Your Account
0

Sir Gawain and the Green Knight: A New Verse Translation - 07 edition

Sir Gawain and the Green Knight: A New Verse Translation (ISBN10: 0393060489; ISBN13: 9780393060485)
ISBN13: 978-0393060485
ISBN10: 0393060489

Summary: A spellbinding poetic translation of this six hundred year-old Arthurian story of beheading, romance, and the supernatural. ''Promises to drive the green force of the old poem through the Armitage fuse and set it a-buddin' and a-bloomin' for the new millennium.''-Seamus Heaney, Nobel Laureate, best-selling translator ofBeowulf Composed in the late fourteenth century by an anonymous author in the English provinces, this remarkable epic has enchanted readers for generations. The work i
tself is an unparalleled masterpiece of alliteration and rhyme, beginning at Christmastime in Camelot, when the festivities of the Round Table are interrupted by the sudden appearance of a fearful stranger, green from head to foot. A young knight, Gawain, rises to the challenge. What follows is a test of nerve and heart as Gawain travels north to meet his destiny at the Green Chapel in a year's time. Following in the tradition of Seamus Heaney, Simon Armitage, one of England's leading poets, has produced a virtuoso new translation that resounds with both clarity and verve.
...show more
Summary: A spellbinding poetic translation of this six hundred year-old Arthurian story of beheading, romance, and the supernatural. ''Promises to drive the green force of the old poem through the Armitage fuse and set it a-buddin' and a-bloomin' for the new millennium.''-Seamus Heaney, Nobel Laureate, best-selling translator ofBeowulf Composed in the late fourteenth century by an anonymous author in the English provinces, this remarkable epic has enchanted readers for generations. The work itself is an unparalleled masterpiece of alliteration and rhyme, beginning at Christmastime in Camelot, when the festivities of the Round Table are interrupted by the sudden appearance of a fearful stranger, green from head to foot. A young knight, Gawain, rises to the challenge. What follows is a test of nerve and heart as Gawain travels north to meet his destiny at the Green Chapel in a year's time. Following in the tradition of Seamus Heaney, Simon Armitage, one of England's leading poets, has produced a virtuoso new translation that resounds with both clarity and verve. ...show less

Edition/Copyright: 07
Cover: Hardback
Publisher: W.W. Norton & Co.
Published: 10/08/2007
International: No



List Price: $25.95
Used $6.49
Used
Save $19.46 (75%)
  • FREE shipping over $25
  • In stock
  • 30-day returns
Condition:
Order this book in the next 6 hours and 37 minutes and it ships by Noon CT today!
New  Currently Sold Out
Marketplace sellers starting at $1.99

45 more offers below.

The Marketplace on Textbooks.com
Additional Sellers for Sir Gawain and the Green Knight: A New Verse Translation
Just for you, we curate a growing list of independent booksellers, giving you even MORE choices when shopping for your textbooks.
Keep in mind: Marketplace orders do NOT qualify for free shipping. More about the MarketplaceMore about the Marketplace

Filter by:   All (45)  |  New (10)  |  Like New (14)  |  Very Good (10)  |  Good (10)  |  Acceptable (1)

Price
 
Condition
Seller
Comments
$6.49
+$3.99 s/h

Very Good
Textbooks.com
Columbia, MO
Ships Ground DIRECTLY from Textbooks.com for $3.99. FREE Ground Shipping over $25! Very good condition (Certified Used). Trackable expedited shipping options available.
$21.34
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
New
Barnes & Noble.com
Various Shipping Locations, USA
Seller Rating: 5
Brand new, ships from the closest shipping location to your shipping address!
$1.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Good
Books Squared
Dallas, TX
Seller Rating: 4.59
Only lightly used. Book has minimal wear to cover and binding. A few pages may have small creases and minimal underlining. Book selection as BIG as Texas.
$1.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Good
Free State Books
Halethorpe, MD
Seller Rating: 4.54
Book shows minor use. Cover and Binding have minimal wear, and the pages have only minimal creases. Free State Books. Never settle for less.
$3.07
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
VeryGood
Better World Books
Mishawaka, IN
Seller Rating: 4.62
Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. 100% Money Back Guarantee. Shipped to over one million happy customers. Your purchase benefits world literacy!
$3.07
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Good
Better World Books
Mishawaka, IN
Seller Rating: 4.62
Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. 100% Money Back Guarantee. Shipped to over one million happy customers. Your purchase benefits world literacy!
$3.89
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Good
HPB-Bethel
Columbus, OH
Seller Rating: 4.91
2007 Hardcover Good Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include companion materials, some shelf wear, may contain highlighting/notes, may not include cdrom or access ...show morecodes. Customer service is our top priority! ...show less
$3.89
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Good
One Planet Books
Columbia, MO
Seller Rating: 4.55
Ships same day or next business day! UPS expedited shipping available (Priority Mail for AK/HI/APO/PO Boxes). Used sticker & some writing and/or highlighting. Used books may not include working access ...show more code or dust jacket ...show less
$6.49
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
VeryGood
Textbookcenter.com
Columbia, MO
Seller Rating: 4.63
Ships same day or next business day via UPS (Priority Mail for AK/HI/APO/PO Boxes)! Used sticker and some writing and/or highlighting. Used books may not include working access code or dust jacket.
$6.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Good
HPB-North Olmsted
North Olmsted, OH
Seller Rating: 4.5
2007 Hardcover Good Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include companion materials, some shelf wear, may contain highlighting/notes, and may not include cd-rom or ac ...show morecess codes. Customer service is our top priority! ...show less
$7.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Good
HPB-Anderson Mill
Austin, TX
Seller Rating: 4.75
2007 Hardcover Good Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include companion materials, some shelf wear, may contain highlighting/notes, may not include cd-om or access ...show morecodes. Customer service is our top priority! ...show less
$8.44
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Good
HPB-South-Lamar
Austin, TX
Seller Rating: 4.63
2007 Hardcover Good Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include companion materials, some shelf wear, may contain highlighting/notes, and may not include cd-rom or ac ...show morecess codes. Customer service is our top priority! ...show less
Page:   1     2     3     4     5     |   Next >
Close
Close
Close