Buy Textbooks  |  Rent Textbooks  |  Sell Textbooks  |  eTextbooks
Help  |  Questions? 1-877-292-6442
Hello, Sign In
Your Account
0

Yellow : Race in America beyond Black and White - 02 edition

Yellow : Race in America beyond Black and White (ISBN10: 046500640X; ISBN13: 9780465006403)
ISBN13: 978-0465006403
ISBN10: 046500640X

This edition has also been released as:
ISBN13: 978-0465006397
ISBN10: 0465006396

Summary: This explosive book examines the current state of civil rights in the U.S. through the unique experiences of Asian Americans. In the tradition of W.E.B. Du Bois, Cornel West, and other public intellectuals who have confronted the "color line" of the twentieth century, journalist, scholar, and activist Frank H. Wu offers a unique perspective on how changing ideas of racial identity will affect race relations in the new century.

Often provocative a
nd always thoughtful, this book addresses some of the most controversial contemporary issues: discrimination, immigration, diversity, globalization, and the mixed race movement, introducing the example of Asian Americans to shed new light on the current debates. Mixing personal anecdotes, social science research, legal cases, history, and original journalistic reporting, Wu tackles Asian American stereotypes like "the model minority" and "the perpetual foreigner," and shows how these seemingly innocuous concepts have harmed individuals and damaged relations between communities. By offering new ways of thinking about race in American society, Wu's work challenges us to make good on our great democratic experiment.

...show more
Summary: This explosive book examines the current state of civil rights in the U.S. through the unique experiences of Asian Americans. In the tradition of W.E.B. Du Bois, Cornel West, and other public intellectuals who have confronted the "color line" of the twentieth century, journalist, scholar, and activist Frank H. Wu offers a unique perspective on how changing ideas of racial identity will affect race relations in the new century.

Often provocative and always thoughtful, this book addresses some of the most controversial contemporary issues: discrimination, immigration, diversity, globalization, and the mixed race movement, introducing the example of Asian Americans to shed new light on the current debates. Mixing personal anecdotes, social science research, legal cases, history, and original journalistic reporting, Wu tackles Asian American stereotypes like "the model minority" and "the perpetual foreigner," and shows how these seemingly innocuous concepts have harmed individuals and damaged relations between communities. By offering new ways of thinking about race in American society, Wu's work challenges us to make good on our great democratic experiment.

...show less

Edition/Copyright: 02
Cover: Paperback
Publisher: Basic Books, Inc.
Published: 03/25/2003
International: No

View Author Bio



List Price: $19.99
Used $7.80
Used
Save $12.19 (61%)
  • FREE shipping over $25
  • In stock
  • 30-day returns
Condition:
Order this book in the next 8 hours and 37 minutes and it ships by Noon CT today!
New  Currently Sold Out
Marketplace sellers starting at $1.99

42 more offers below.

The Marketplace on Textbooks.com
Additional Sellers for Yellow : Race in America beyond Black and White
Just for you, we curate a growing list of independent booksellers, giving you even MORE choices when shopping for your textbooks.
Keep in mind: Marketplace orders do NOT qualify for free shipping. More about the MarketplaceMore about the Marketplace

Filter by:   All (42)  |  New (9)  |  Like New (1)  |  Very Good (4)  |  Good (25)  |  Acceptable (3)

Price
 
Condition
Seller
Comments
$7.80
+$3.99 s/h

Very Good
Textbooks.com
Columbia, MO
Ships Ground DIRECTLY from Textbooks.com for $3.99. FREE Ground Shipping over $25! Very good condition (Certified Used). Trackable expedited shipping options available.
$16.53
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
New
Barnes & Noble.com
Various Shipping Locations, USA
Seller Rating: 5
Brand new, ships from the closest shipping location to your shipping address!
$1.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Good
Nettextstore
Lincoln, NE
Seller Rating: 4.55
2003 Paperback Good Books have varying amounts of wear and highlighting. Usually ships within 24 hours in quality packaging. Satisfaction guaranteed. This item may not include any CDs, Infotracs, A ...show moreccess cards or other supplementary material. ...show less
$1.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Good
Better World Books
Mishawaka, IN
Seller Rating: 4.62
Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. 100% Money Back Guarantee. Shipped to over one million happy customers. Your purchase benefits world literacy!
$1.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Acceptable
Seattle Goodwill WA
Seattle, WA
Seller Rating: 4.7
2003 Paperback Fair
$1.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Acceptable
Free State Books
Halethorpe, MD
Seller Rating: 4.54
Free State Books. Never settle for less.
$1.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Good
HippoBooks-DB
Toledo, OH
Seller Rating: 4.49
Our feedback rating says it all: Five star service and fast delivery! We have shipped four million items to happy customers, and have one MILLION unique items ready to ship today!
$1.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Good
thriftbooks-com
Auburn, WA
Seller Rating: 4.57
Light shelf wear and minimal interior marks. Millions of satisfied customers and climbing. Thriftbooks is the name you can trust, guaranteed. Spend Less. Read More.
$1.99
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Good
thriftbooks-com
Auburn, WA
Seller Rating: 4.57
Light shelf wear and minimal interior marks. Millions of satisfied customers and climbing. Thriftbooks is the name you can trust, guaranteed. Spend Less. Read More.
$2.68
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
LikeNew
Horizon Books OH
Cleveland, OH
Seller Rating: 4.68
Fine Book and Cover in Good Condition
$2.83
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Good
BookHolders MD
College Park, MD
Seller Rating: 4.66
Reprint Good [ No Hassle 30 Day Returns ] [ Edition: Reprint ] Publisher: Basic Books Pub Date: 3/1/2003 Binding: Paperback Pages: 416.
$3.50
+$3.99 s/h
Add marketplace to your cart
Good
HPB-North Olmsted
North Olmsted, OH
Seller Rating: 4.6
2003 Paperback Good Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include companion materials, some shelf wear, may contain highlighting/notes, and may not include cd-rom or ac ...show morecess codes. Customer service is our top priority! ...show less
Page:   1     2     3     4     5     |   Next >
Close
Close
Close