Eros the Bittersweet 98 edition (9781564781888) - Textbooks.com Skip to main content
Ship-Ship-Hooray! Free Shipping on $25+ View Details about Free Shipping >
Eros the Bittersweet

Eros the Bittersweet - 98 edition

Eros the Bittersweet - 98 edition

ISBN13: 9781564781888

ISBN10: 1564781887

Eros the Bittersweet by Anne Carson - ISBN 9781564781888
Edition: 98
Copyright: 1998
Publisher: Dalkey Archive Press
Published:
International: No
Eros the Bittersweet by Anne Carson - ISBN 9781564781888

ISBN13: 9781564781888

ISBN10: 1564781887

Edition: 98

This title is currently not available in digital format.

Well, that's no good. Unfortunately, this edition is currently out of stock. Please check back soon.
$9.99/month
(a $29.95 value!)
Billed monthly. Cancel at any time
Homework Help
Get the write idea! Jumpstart your papers and finish your assignments quickly with high quality essay examples and research papers from StudyMode. Also included are the tools to analyze and improve your written work.
Available in the Marketplace starting at $7.67 Hide Marketplace
Filter by: All ()  |  New ()  |  Like New ()  |  Very Good ()  |  Good ()  |  Acceptable ()
Price Condition Seller Comments

Shop Us With Confidence

Summary

A book about love as seen by the ancients, Eros is Anne Carson's exploration of the concept of "eros" in both classical philosophy and literature. Beginning with: "It was Sappho who first called eros 'bittersweet.' No one who has been in love disputes her. What does the word mean?", Carson examines her subject from numerous points of view and styles, transcending the constraints of the scholarly exercise for an evocative and lyrical meditation in the tradition of William Carlos William's Spring and All and William H. Gass's On Being Blue.

Epigrammatic, witty, ironic, and endlessly interesting, Eros is an utterly original book by an author whose acclaim has been steadily growing since the book was first published in 1986 by Johns Hopkins. Knopf will be publishing the author's new novel, Autobiography in Red, later this spring.